jump to navigation

Skylark by Meagan Spooner April 26, 2012

Posted by echslibrary in Not held at East.
trackback

I will start by saying I will definitely recommend this books to students who enjoy dystopian and/or fantasy and/or paranormal books.  This book touches on all three.  I enjoyed the book immensely.

However, I felt like something was missing.  I don’t know exactly what was missing, but some sort or prologue that introduced a bit more of why that society is like it is would probably fill in that hole.  Lark’s knowledge of her society is certainly lacking, but I realize that’s partly because no one is really told what is going on behind the magic.  But as a reader, I expect to know a little more than the characters do.

As far as plot, I enjoyed the unique twist about Oren.  The magic Lark has reminds me of a couple of other characters in YA books I have read, but her type is just different enough to make her stand out among magic-users.  The fact that she really doesn’t have much to keep her in the City is the biggest driving force to her journey and while a bit sad to think about, I am excited for what will happen in her future journeys.  I only hope that she does find Basil and there is a happy reunion for her.

Skylark is a standout when it comes to a strong female heroine and her innate desire to do right, even though doing right means she must fight the system, both literally and metaphorically.  Meagan Spooner has certainly crafted a tale that morphs past, present, and future societies into one beautiful, horrible time.  It is all three rolled into one, with glimpses of all three tenses in every scene.  The attention to detail is amazing and Spooner leaves nothing lacking in her description of each scene, down to the shimmer of magic.

I give this book 4.25 stars out of 5 and like I said before, I will definitely recommend this to my students.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

